Archive for June, 2012

City of Milwaukee POLISH VISA WAIVER PROGRAM resolution

file was approved by the full Common Council on June 12, 2012 and expresses the Common Council’s support for the Federal Visa Waiver Program Enhanced Security and Reform Act (H.R.3855 and S. 2046), legislation currently pending in the U.S. House of Representatives and U. S.Senate; and

WHEREAS, This federal legislation modifies the requirements of the current Visa Waiver Program by removing barriers for citizens of certain American allies, such as Poland, to travel to the United States without a visa; and

WHEREAS, Currently, as part of the Visa Waiver Program, citizens of 36 Foreign countries can travel to the United States for up to 90 days without a visa, and current law uses the visa refusal rate as one of the criteria for designation in the Visa Waiver Program, and that number has
kept certain American allies from participation in the program; and

WHEREAS, The Visa Waiver Program Enhanced Security and Reform Act amends the Immigration and Nationality Act regarding the Visa Waiver Program to authorize the Secretary of Homeland Security to designate any country as a program country, adjusts the visa refusal rate criteria, including the addition of a 3% maximum overstay rate, and revises probationary and termination provisions; now, therefore, be it

RESOL VED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee here with recognizes the passage of Common Council file# 111680 – Resolution supporting passage of the Federal Visa
Waiver Program Enhanced Security and Reform Act, and urges passage of the Federal legislation in Congress; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to
the President of the Polish American Congress – Wisconsin Division, on June 15, 2012.

Introduced by Common Council members Joe Dudzik, Tony Zielinski, Terry L. Witkowski, Nik Kovac, Jim Bohl, Milele A. Coggs, Robert G. Donovan and Jose G. Perez and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common council on July 6, 2012.

Alderman Willie L. Hines Jr., President of the Common Council
James R. Owczarski, City Clerk

Friday, June 22nd, 2012 Newsletter No Comments

Archived Posts

June 2012
« May   Nov »